the inciting incident

It’s been a long time since I blogged, mainly because it’s been a long time since I last felt that I’ve been able to put my heart into words.

Today however I feel that I can. Earlier this morning I was listening to a recent God Journey Podcast in which Wayne & Brad were talking with their friend Chris DuPré entitled First Love.

Chris was telling his story, and was saying how he found himself in the midst of a group of people that were “…talking about Jesus again.“. He didn’t mean in the sense that we discuss theories about Jesus, and the things he said and did when he was here on earth, but in the sense of knowing him.

Oh my, how this caught my heart!

When did we stop talking about Jesus? When did we replace this with programs and systems and meetings and theories and principles and theologies and organisations and denominations and institutions and movements and spotlights and… self?

It tires me.
It wears me out.
It makes me sad.

Where I really want to be, is in the midst of a those who are once again talking about the real Jesus. The real Truth. The real Light. The real Way.

Jesus, the lovely One.

For a long time now I’ve had in my heart a desire to blog along the lines of “In Search of Dad’s Church“, but I kept putting it off, kept pushing it aside. Knowing that some will be [willfully] offended, and knowing my total lack of desire to enter into that conversation with them. I’m so tired of it. So very tired.

However, today, and for as long as it needs to be, this will be the theme of my blog. I am now, and have been for a long time, in search of Dad’s Church.

In search of people who are once again, talking about Jesus.

8 Responses to the inciting incident

  1. Brian says:

    Hey Terri, good to have you blogging again in this way. Dad loves you and loves the integrity of his relationship with you.

  2. Hope says:

    I have a renewed passion recently as well and am ready to talk about Him and even talk more TO Him! I mean really, we are all so eager to talk about our favorite shows and how ironic that one of mine is “American IDOL”. Hmmmmm, He has been nudging me ever so graciously for a while now, don’t you think?
    Love you my Tezziful wonder!! Jesus loves you too!

  3. Jill says:

    so glad you’re back! Can’t wait for more thoughts from you!

  4. Gina says:

    You’re hitting the nail on the head, Tez-of-my-heart. What passes for church and churchishness these days is shockingly self-centered. For myself, I pity the masses therein. They’re not even given the chance to find out anything about the God who created them…to know Him. *blink*

    That reminds me, I have a meeting on Saturday…*checks watch*

    8)

  5. Yeah…what Gina said. 😉 Love you, friend.

Leave a Reply

