burned out by religion?

Jesus…
“Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out on religion? Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me—watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.”

– Matthew 11:28-30 (The Message)

Isn’t that just beautiful? The answer to our weariness is to turn away from all the religious requirements placed on us, and to walk with Jesus. To let him show us how to really rest. To let him show us how to do life. Let him teach us “the unforced rhythms of grace”… what an incredible turn of phrase!

I can hear the love in his voice. He’d only just been lamenting the response of towns of Chorazin, Bethsaida and Capernaum for their response to the things Jesus had done in their presence. But, he knew where they were coming from! He understood their predicament. They were steeped in religion. Steeped in the law. They were so intent on doing their utmost to please God by adhering to all the requirement of their religion, that they completely missed God, himself, in their midst. And Jesus’ answer? He stops to pray for them, and then invites them into a life of rest. With him. In short, he loves them. Oh the great pleasure he must’ve felt in taking the burdon of religion off of them!!

Of course, they didn’t all ‘get it’. Some did, but most didn’t. Understandable of course, I mean, they didn’t get that Jesus was God, their Creator, living life with them inviting them into a better way of doing life. He’d come to save them from their burdensome life of trying to please him… and yet, for some reason, we remain attracted to religios observance and performance.

I suspect it’s primarily about our sence of right and wrong. For, while we know that we’re “saved by grace”, we still, deep down insist upon our own unworthiness and attempt to correct this injustice by doing our utmost to behave in all ways worthy.

Unfortunately, moden Christianity provides us with a plethora of ways in which we can [and must] do this. Attendance, service, tithing, worship, mission, Bible reading, studying, conferences, witnessing, meetings to organise meetings, social programs, and even prayer are all carefully scheduled into our days, weeks, months and years. All the time with us insisting, to a world that knows better, that “it’s not religion but relationship“, and… we believe it.

And Jesus says…

“Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out on religion? Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me—watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.”

One Response to burned out by religion?

  1. Nat says:

    Far out, SO true. Loving what you have to say, Terri. Thank you 🙂

Leave a Reply

