timing

Currently Reading: Church Without Walls: Moving Beyond Traditional Boundaries
By: Jim Peterson

So, ask me what the secret of my comedy succes is

Hmn, this joke just doesn’t work in writing. Oh well….

So this morning I’m thinking about church, and about the fact that while every person who attends church on a Sunday interacts with unchurched people on a daily basis (or mostly I’d expect), for some reason, we’re still expecting people to come to us. What is that? Some will of course, but mostly those that do (oh I do detest christianese, but because I’m in a silly mood I’m going to use some) are “wandering sheep”. Apart from them though? Not a lot.

Anyhoo, so I go to the coffeeshop this afternoon, and what is Jim Petersen (Church Without Walls) talking about today? Well here’s a sample…

They days when we could expect the world to come to us are over. yet we try. In fact, that’s where we expend most all of our energy – trying to get the world to come to us.

No major diatribe on this tonight, just that it was an interesting thought, actually no, more than an interesting thought… profound really.

Timing.

Speaking about timing. A really cool thing happened today. I need a job, however, at the end of July I’m going to New Zealand for a week’s skiing with friends, so, I was a tad worried about applying for a job now and having to say, “by the way, I’m disappearing in a fortnight for a week’s holiday” (not a great self-selling point when applying for jobs).

Yet again, however, Dad steps in…

I recieved an email today offering me 2 weeks work. Nice. Perfect even. Makes me smile.

Timing.

Lamentations 3:22
God’s loyal love couldn’t have run out, his merciful love couldn’t have dried up. They’re created new every morning. How great your faithfulness! I’m sticking with God (I say it over and over). He’s all I’ve got left.
(The Message)

3 Responses to timing

  1. Anonymous says:

    God is an awesome provider!

    I agree with your post………..for some reason, we think the lost will find us………??

    I’ve heard pastors stand up on Sundays and “call in” the lost from the north, east, south and west……….yet he must have not screamed loud enough ’cause they didn’t show up. LOL

  2. Anonymous says:

    Reminds me of what I saw Sunday morning. A man was outside ringing the church bell…..with each toll you could hear “Come to worship, come to worship”. People passing by waved as they stopped at the stop sign…..and drove right on by.

    Glad everything is working out for you! Blessings….Q.’

  3. Anonymous says:

    Thanks Dad!

    Ken

Leave a comment